Author Topic: Mio 50 speed restrictors  (Read 15439 times)

fiddlefan

• Me and my scoot have an awesome love affair.
    • View Profile
    • (p)sculptures - recycled plastic art
Mio 50 speed restrictors
« on: August 04, 2010, 10:08:26 AM »
SYMANIAC

frankiej1949

• View Profile
Re: Mio 50 speed restrictors
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2010, 09:06:09 AM »
Hi Fiddlefan
I am a newbie!!! used to ride scooters years ago, too many. I hired a GTS125i Evo on holiday and enjoyed it so much came back to UK and bought a GTS250i I got a good deal buying a MIO 50cc for my partner too. I was looking at your derestriction article and wondered if it needed rejetting after the mods. Is the variator nut hard to remove and what torque does it need when replacing?
Thanking you in anticipation
Frankiej1949

fiddlefan

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2010, 09:59:32 AM »
Hi Fiddlefan
I am a newbie!!! used to ride scooters years ago, too many. I hired a GTS125i Evo on holiday and enjoyed it so much came back to UK and bought a GTS250i I got a good deal buying a MIO 50cc for my partner too. I was looking at your derestriction article and wondered if it needed rejetting after the mods. Is the variator nut hard to remove and what torque does it need when replacing?
Thanking you in anticipation
Frankiej1949

frankiej1949,

I did not rejet after removing the restrictors.  I was told it was not necessary with those particular restriction removals.  The variator nut was not hard for me to remove, but I made myself a homemade variator/clutch removal tool a while back that I used.  As far a torque settings for the variator nut, I just tightened it to what I thought was sufficient...tight to the point of not risking stripping the threads.

Enjoy your scooter and good luck with the mods.  It's not too hard at all.
SYMANIAC

frankiej1949

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2010, 07:57:42 AM »
Hi Fiddlefan