Author Topic: Scooter's front wheel makes a clicking sound  (Read 3177 times)

isobel

• View Profile
Scooter's front wheel makes a clicking sound
« on: August 16, 2011, 10:26:22 PM »
First of all, hello everyone! I'm very new to the motorcycle/scooter community and the SYM RV250 is my first vehicle I've ever purchased for myself and I couldn't be happier! It's a 2009, brand new, haven't had any issues save one...

I notice that when I use the front brake, the bike makes a odd clicking/scraping sound until it comes to a stop, and occasionally continues the sound once I use the throttle again. Sometimes it doesn't make the sound at all, sometimes it's very faint and a few times it's been a very loud clack clack clack. My boyfriend is guessing that a brake pad might be slightly off, or the plate is grinding against the brake a bit as it's releasing... I'm just wondering if anyone has noticed something similar with their SYM.

I had it taken in for it's 200 mile check up and apparently they checked the brakes and nothing looked wrong. I just feel like a sound like this on any vehicle is generally not a good thing.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2011, 03:23:50 PM by isobel »

whatthejawn

• View Profile
Re: New RV250 makes a scraping sound...
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 09:29:19 AM »
shoulda asked them about it when you went for the checkup. bring it back and let them have a look, see if they mention anything. i know squealing noises are somewhat normal when brake discs/pads aren't properly aligned, but they go away once the brake pad wears out to match the brake discs.. yours sound a bit scarier though

GaryL

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2011, 09:54:31 AM »
Isobel -