Author Topic: Looking for thoughts about HD200 Evo  (Read 1436 times)

Emil

• View Profile
Looking for thoughts about HD200 Evo
« on: October 07, 2016, 02:05:21 PM »
Hi there,

This is my first post here, and hopefully not the last.
I have been riding a Kymco 125cc scooter for the last 8 years or so and consider an upgrade.
Yesterday, I went to a Sym dealer and test rode the HD 200 Evo. The machine was riding really well (handling, acceleration) and seemed well built too, so I am considering the upgrade.
But before emptying my pockets I would love to get some feedback from folks who rode this scooter for a while.
So if you have some thoughts that you are willing to share, please go ahead.

My main interest reliability and maintenance cost/ease.
I am riding my scooter 5 times/week and will put around 5-8k miles a year on it. Maintenance and minor repairs will be done by myself as well.

Looking forward to getting some input :)

-Emil

Syd

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Looking for thoughts about HD200 Evo
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2016, 04:55:24 PM »
I rode a 2006 model HD200 - it wasn't EVO back then - for four+ years and 16,000 miles (an accident totaled it). Mine was a rock. It never failed me and ran like a 250cc scoot. I loved it. Oil changes are inexpensive because there is no filter to replace. Adding coolant is inconvenient; you need light to even check it.

People have reported troubles with bad temp sensors or thermostats, which can cause overheating.
There are real or perceived issues with parts. I never had trouble, and if you have a good dealer you shouldn't either. Buy one, you'll like it.

Emil

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2016, 05:19:20 PM »
Yeah - I was just reading about the sensor issue, leaking coolant, gas leaking dunnowhere etc. ... very scary.
Good to hear yours was great (sorry for the accident).