Author Topic: Newby in need of some help please, Ig. coil fuse keeps blowing  (Read 901 times)

jditonno

• View Profile
Hey all!
I have an '08 300i that was jumped from a pickup early this spring ever since it was jumped it blows the ig. fuse when the side stand is engaged. I have been chasing wires for two months now and am slowing going insane. I tried unhooking things one by one and tried bypassing the side stand and still the fuse blows. Everything functions when the battery is first connected turn key on it runs the normal display turn on the main red switch still fine, as soon as I lift the side stand you hear a very brief whir like the fuel pump is going to do its thing and then `pop` the 15amp ig. fuse goes.

I am looking for any suggestions as where I should look next. I have the scoot taken apart so that I could inspect all of the wiring and have yet to come across anything major.
please help....I miss my ride!!!!

Thanks
JD
« Last Edit: June 16, 2016, 01:56:21 PM by jditonno »

redridinghood

• View Profile
Re: Ig. coil fuse blowing
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2016, 11:04:57 AM »
Just by reading your description, I wonder if the fuse would blow if you disconnected the wires to the fuel pump and turned the key on?

Whirr...pop

Would have to think this would isolate the fuel pump (and possibly a relay?) and might see if it's to blame.

« Last Edit: June 16, 2016, 11:13:01 AM by redridinghood »

jditonno

• View Profile
Re: Ig. coil fuse blowing
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2016, 11:38:43 AM »
Thanks so much for the reply, I shall go give it a try and let you guys know a.s.a.p

jditonno

• View Profile
Newby in need of some help please, Ig. coil fuse keeps blowing
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2016, 11:54:20 AM »