Author Topic: Clutch slipping?  (Read 650 times)

evogt

• View Profile
Clutch slipping?
« on: March 28, 2016, 03:28:35 PM »
I'm new to this scooter.  It is an 07 model, with 3000 miles.  When I start off on it, the clutch seems to take up to 3-5 seconds to fully engage with WOT...  On a normal bike, I would feel the clutch is slipping.  I'm not sure if this is normal behavior for a centrifugal set up. 

I changed the transmission oil, using the correct hypoid oil, hoping that would help, but no joy.  Did my best to get 100cc of oil in, but maybe was off a little.  Is the performance of the clutch affected by slight variations in oil amount.  Should I try adding a little more oil at a time to see if it helps? 

Any and all feed back or help would be appreciated. 

Tromper

• View Profile
Re: Clutch slipping?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2016, 05:13:20 PM »
There's a tetch of slip on the HD200 (same clutch).  When it got to the point that it was noticeable for more than a second or so I popped it open and deglazed the clutch with some sandpaper.
Really not a big deal, but if you let it get away from you it can become an issue.
08 SYM HD200
07 Suzuki Burgman 650

evogt

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2016, 08:59:36 PM »
Can you point me to someplace that shows how to deglaze the clutch? I really have no documentation on this scooter at all.  Something on utube or another link to the process.  Thankx.. Eric

Tromper

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2016, 10:37:40 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fLmTPJc7k8I is part 1 of belt replacement on an HD200.
You can see more links at http://www.jeffs-hotsauces.com/firedrakehome.htm#Upgrade%20Section